Month: April 2011

  • It’s Not Raining!!

    For the moment, at least, it is not raining here.  We’ll see how long that lasts.

    firstclock1 Here is a new clock that I’ll be offering in my etsy shop soon.  This is part of a series experimenting with black, white and red in various mokume gane techniques.  I feel that technique works better with the so-called metallic or pearl polymer clay colors, but this customer wanted colors to match her kitchen – and I ended up with far more of the combination than I really wanted to work with.  There will be clocks, switch plates and even bookmarks in these colors.  (Hope other people have black, red and white rooms in their houses – or just like these colors…)

    Our house is still not back to normal – we had several leaks after the recent storms and had a contractor working all last week to find the sources of the water and repair the damaged walls, doors, porch ceilings.  In the end, we had to remove all the wallpaper from the kitchen and dining room.  Since the rooms were emptied out anyway, I called another company to refinish the hardwood floors – but they won’t be here until the end of this week.  So we’re still living in somewhat of a crowded mess.

  • Entered another challenge

    IMG_0275

    This is my entry to the Polymer Clay Artists Guild of Etsy’s current challenge. The theme is ‘Flora and Fauna’. I figured there’s plenty of flora on my Marigold Wall Clock!

    In other ‘flora’ news, my daffodils are in full bloom. Why is it I never seem to get out there to take pictures – and then they’re gone… Planted some astilbe ‘bare-root’ plants this morning. This time I got them into the ground the day after they arrived, so there’s a good chance of survival. And I also planted the “Sea Holly” handed out at the Western Pennsylvania Landscape and Gardening Symposium Saturday. Feeling quite virtuous about planting so promptly!

  • Finally getting my studio back

    All last week, everything was torn apart as workmen looked for the source of a leak, then worked to repair the damage. Caulking that failed was the problem. Since we’re supposed to have thunderstorms this afternoon, I guess the repair will be fully tested!

    And, speaking of studio – i.e. polymer clay – here’s some info about a special promotion on Etsy:

    HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

    Spoil your mom or yourself for that matter! Win a Beautiful Basket Full of gorgeous Polymer Clay items. No Purchase Necessary. To be entered into the drawing, either purchase an item from the stores below from April 11th to the 25th or send an email to Laurelsteven.etsy.com with your name and email address.
    What better way to honor your mom than with a handcrafted, beautiful item from the Polymer Clay Artists Guild of Etsy members? Shop handmade on Etsy. Shop at the stores listed below to enter!

    11BOLDStreet.etsy.com
    Beckysuecreations.etsy.com
    Claycenter.etsy.com
    Higirls.etsy.com
    Kellyplaysclay.etsy.com
    Marcympc.etsy.com
    NKDesigns.etsy.com
    Peggers.etsy.com
    Polymerclaycreations.etsy.com

    My next project is to be mechanical pencils in shades of blues and greens – a custom order. At least the leak has gotten me to straighten up and re-organize my work area!

  • New Etsy Listing

    Well, I finally did it – I listed my beaked toads for sale on Etsy. Being more productive means I can’t continue to hold on to my favorites.
    beaked Toads3

    Beaked Toads1

  •  PCAGOE announces a Mother’s Day Promotion for ETSY: 

    A beautiful gift basket filled with amazing polymer clay items from our guild members will be given away in time for Mother’s Day.  More information will be forthcoming on our blog and in our stores. No purchase is necessary.  If you would like a chance to win, please send a convo to Laurel Steven at Laurelsteven@etsy.com to be entered to win.

    So – go to ETSY, search on PCAGOE team, and look at all the wonderful items that can be created with polymer clay!

    Here’s my “Madame FooFoo”, for example:

                                  

     

    And – just to remind everyone it’s still amaryllis blooming time, here are a few more:

            

    Since I keep around 200 of these bulbs over the winter, I’ll have an ongoing supply of plants and no where to keep them all as they start blooming.  It’s a challenge every year, but the blossoms are so intriguing that I have to admit – I’m addicted!